Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > J.R.R. Tolkien > Middle Earth
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 02-01-2011, 01:38 PM   #1
Hirulin
Hobbit

I could use a little assistance!

Hi all! This is a question concerning copyright! I have recently started Engraving glasses as a way to earn a little extra pin money. I've looked online and can find practically NO-WHERE that engraves Elvish onto things!!! As I'm a fluent writer in the tengwar, I was wondering if I'd be able to sell Glasses which had the Elven Script engraved on then without getting into any trouble with the Tolkien Estate (We all know what they're like regarding the proff's works!) I wouldn't have thought that there would be a problem so long as I didn't engrave anything that was quoted in the books/movies (I was planning on doing names, simple messages etc!) Would the Tengwar be copyrighted do you think? I assumed not considering you can download the fonts and suchlike!!

Any advice would be welcomed!

Thank you in anticipation!

Namarie

Hirulin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 04:16 PM   #2
Jonathan
Entmoot Attorney-General,
Equilibrating the Scales of Justice, Administrator

I can't imagine Tengwar being copyrighted. I know of smiths who make rings and engrave them with "One Ring to Rule Them All" (in Elvish symbols) and they didn't seem to bother much about copyrights.
An unwritten post is a delightful universe of infinite possibilities. Set down one word, however, and it immediately becomes earthbound. Set down one sentence and it’s halfway to being just like every other bloody entry that’s ever been written.
Jonathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 04:33 PM   #3
Hirulin
Hobbit

That was my reasoning! I've been given a link to the Middle Earth Enterprises website so I'm contemplating getting in touch with them regarding it (although they seem to want me to apply for a license at first glance!!!!!!!) Hopefully, I'll be alright to do it and NOT get into trouble! lol!