Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > J.R.R. Tolkien > Lord of the Rings Books
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 01-15-2004, 11:16 AM   #1
Panther2112
Hobbit

Nazgul Tom Bombadil

I know this subject has been discussed quite a bit but I have been trying to convince a friend of mine who is new to the books that nobody really knows who Tom is and that question will never been answered. Everyone has a theory, heck I have one. Just wanted some feedback on the following (men of the west are in my opinion the rangers such as Strider):

just finished 'Fog on the Barrow-Downs' and I have a new theory on Tom Bombadil. I think he was once one of the Men of Westernesse that somehow became immortal. (Like in Highlander before they ruined it with that space alien crap in Highlander 2) On page 142, Tom says that the Men of Westernesse were foes of the Dark Lord, but they were overcome by the evil king of Carn Dum in the Land of Angmar. He goes on to say: "Few now remember them yet some go wandering, sons of forgotten kings walking in loneliness, guarding from evil things folk that are heedless." (as Tom does for the Hobbits when he rescues them from the Wight). Also, prior to that passage on the same page Tom picks up the brooch from the Wight's treasure and "looked long at it, as if stirred by some memory, shaking his head...". On page 143, they pass the "boundary of a kingdom, but a very long time ago. He (Tom) seemed to remember something sad about it, and would not say much." On page 144, Tom says that "out east my knowledge fails. Tom is not master of Riders from the Black Land far beyond his country". Of course, as I read further may theory may be completely blown (or maybe not since you said he is not really a part of the story from here on out). I guess I'll have to try and read 'The Silmarillion'.
Old 01-15-2004, 11:23 AM   #2
Thorin II
Elven Warrior