Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > Other Topics > General Messages
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 10-03-2009, 03:55 AM   #1
GrayMouser
Elf Lord

Cursive writing

The kind where the letters all join together.

This came up in a forum I'm on for English teachers in Taiwan. Many younger posters were saying it's a waste of time in our computer/texting age; the counter-argument is that it's faster.

Some said you should be taught it well enough that at least you can read it. When I first started teaching in Taiwan (almost twenty years ago ) it was taught in first year English in junior high; now they don't teach it at all.

Thoughts? Did/do you learn it? Is it still useful?

"I like pigs. Dogs look up to us, cats look down on us, but pigs treat us as equals."- Winston Churchill
GrayMouser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 04:18 AM   #2
Mari
Elf Lady

I had to re-learn it when I studied Primary Education.
The argument for still teaching it in primary schools is that it is faster (as you said) and legible even if you do write fast. If you write in Times New Roman par ex. and you start to write fast, your letters will start to flow together and become much more illegible.

Another argument in favour of cursive writing, is that it requires fine motor skills. You have to develop them as you are working on your handwriting. Some might argue that you can accomplish the same with colouring and drawing, but the age at which children can really learn to draw as finely as you do with writing is higher. They start learning cursive at 7, the same level of skills used in drawing is only around 14 (though some gifted children are earlier).

...The Earth laughs in flowers ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson, "Hamatreya"...
Mari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 05:18 AM   #3
Earniel
The Chocoholic Sea Elf Administrator