Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > Other Topics > General Messages
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 12-11-2004, 10:28 AM   #1
Nurvingiel
Co-President of Entmoot
Super Moderator

All-nighters and Other Academic War Stories

I'm sure a lot of university and high school students alike have found themselves in a similar situation...

I was in a difficult class with a lot of assignments. I did some of them, and I studied a bit for the exam, but then, the fight just went out of me. (I barely passed the exam incidentally, but pass it I did.) I just... stopped doing the work, even though I had six on-line quizzes, and two excercises remaining (one of which was huge, and in three parts).

I have a theory that your brain gets full of things that it doesn't want to be doing. In other words, you have an upper limit of assignments, studying etc. that you can worry about. Anything over this limit gets ignored. It's up to us as (hopefully good) students to raise this limit, until we get all our work done, and achieve brilliant grades!

What? Is that hysterical laughter I hear?

Anyway, at some point, everything becomes a reality. Even though I had been ignoring the sheer, massive amount of work I had, they were still due at noon on Thursday. Well, they became very, very real to me Wednesday night. I pulled an all-nighter to finish them, and I did finish, even though I did a piss poor job on some parts of the excercises. (The TA just emailed me and I still have to fix some things before the assignments count as a pass. *cries* It was still worth staying up all night though, because if I hadn't I never would have this chance to pass the course.)