Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > J.R.R. Tolkien > The Silmarillion
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 06-01-2004, 03:45 AM   #1
Beren3000
Fëanorophobic

The Lay of the Children of Hurin and Greek tragedy

I don't know if there was an old thread pertaining to this subject (I'm new to the Moot) but have you ever heard of Oedipus Rex, a Greek tragedy play by Sophocles?

It tells of this man Oedipus who was foretold to kill his father and marry his mother. So his father sends him away while he's a baby. Of course he ends up (not knowing) killing his REAL father and marrying his mother. Now when he finds out, his mother kills herself and he puts his eyes out. The play has a sequel (Antigone) that talks about Oedipus's daughter who goes out on a limb to ensure a proper burial for her brother who died in battle. Failing to do this, she kills herself.

Doesn't this sound vaguely similar to the tale of Turin and his sister? What do you think?
Beren3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 05:51 AM   #2
Jonathan
Entmoot Attorney-General,
Equilibrating the Scales of Justice, Administrator

It sure does. Surely Tolkien had Oedipus in mind when coming up with the story about Túrin. However there are many stories similar to the one about Oedipus. I don’t think Tolkien stole that many ideas from Greek plays and myth when he created his universe. He was probably more interested in myths and folktales from other regions than Greece and that there is more from Celtic, Saxon and Norse myth in his stories.

When writing about Túrin, Tolkien was probably quite inspired by the Finnish national epic Kalevala (he was very found of the Finnish language and its poetry). In Kalevala, there is a story about the boy Kullervo who seduces a girl who turns out to be his sister. Just like Niniel, the girl throws herself into a river when she finds out who Kullervo really is. Eventually Kullervo takes his life too.