Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > Other Topics > Writer's Workshop
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 06-16-2006, 12:42 PM   #1
The Telcontarion
The one true King of the human race, direct descendant of Adam and heir to the kings of old. "You owe me your fealty." The Tar Minyaturion

I am a writer!!!!!!!!

When I Learned I Liked to Read; When I Learned I WAS a Writer.

I never liked reading books. I always saw reading as something nerds did, and I never considered myself a nerd, because of this I never read. I just did not uderstand how someone could read a book without pictures, “A book without pictures is like a woman without breasts; what the hell?” Needless to say I was a fool.

You have to understand I considered myself a “normal” teenager. I did everything normal teenagers did: I was into music, sports, going out and having fun, fashion, and of course girls.

In a lot of ways I was not average. I considered myself an intellectual. I was very creative. Artistic by nature, I was into animation - specifically Japanese animation - and comic books. I even decided I wanted to become a cartoonist and or an animator, but there was something missing. I felt inadequate. Incomplete.

I could remember that althrough high school one of my favorite things to do in class was to write short stories. Not assignments you woud take home and bring back in a week or two, which was fine. But the short stories you would be asked to write that were based on a phrase, a topic or even end or start with a certain sentence, which would be due at the end of the class. It forced me to think, to be creative, and I loved that. I loved the “challenge.” Looking back I guess I should have known then but I didn't.

I must confess here that I had developed a great curiosity about books. Not because I thought I would like it, but because I saw it as a “challenge.”