Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > J.R.R. Tolkien > Lord of the Rings Books
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 11-09-2010, 08:04 AM   #1
Noble Elf Lord
Leaf-Crowned Lord Of Elvenpath

Correct Tengwar?

I found this site, and wondered if some expert here could tell if the script there is correct? http://tengwarscribe.com/
Old 11-09-2010, 11:10 PM   #2
Galin
Elven Warrior

Since this person only offers transcribed English, you could compare it to the English section of Amanye Tenceli.

http://at.mansbjorkman.net/teng_general_english.htm

Mans owns one of the better Tengwar sites on the web (that I know of). He's done his homework, that much I know, and sources prime texts right on the website (by linking to The Mellonath Daeron Index of Tengwa Specimina). I dabble a bit in transcribing names or words from Elvish Languages (not usually English), but I'm not an expert myself.

Tolkien's books are best, that way one can see what the websites are based on (and if you're interested in writing English, there's also a number of examples from both JRR Tolkien and Christopher Tolkien).
Galin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 02:09 AM   #3
Noble Elf Lord

Thank you very much. I appreciate it.
Old 11-16-2010, 05:28 PM   #4
Rían
Half-Elven Princess of Rabbit Trails and Harp-Wielding Administrator (beware the Rubber Chicken of Doom!)

The site that Galin linked to is my favorite. As far as the site you listed, it looks like it's pretty good, but they put the vowel marks over the preceding consonant, and I put them over the following consonant. Tolkien did it both ways, but IMO, the way I do it is the more standard for English mode - Tolkien seemed to do it that way more often.

"How lovely are Thy dwelling places, O Lord of hosts! ... For a day in Thy courts is better than a thousand outside." (from Psalm 84) * * * God rocks!

Entmoot : Veni, vidi, velcro - I came, I saw, I got hooked!

Ego numquam pronunciare mendacium, sed ego sum homo indomitus!