Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > Other Topics > Entertainment Forum
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 09-20-2001, 10:34 PM   #1
fatclown
Hobbit

Warhammer LOTR?

Has anyone here played Warhammer? Well I have been checking out some games workshop websites and there have been annoucements that they will be creating a Lord of the Rings Warhammer type system! IT will feature all the heros plus normal orcs and elves so you can battle them out! I think it comes out november 7th. Anyone else have info on this? I'm new to the system but i like it over DnD. It is alot more simple and still fun!
fatclown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2001, 12:40 AM   #2
Mathron
Hobbit-Huorn
RPG Moderator

I've seen a bit on it, though haven't been actively looking into it. The models are fantastic, and the game mechanics are much simpler than warhammer. I posted a link to the site in... the middle earth section, maybe? Or just go to www.games-workshop.com and search around for the LotR page.
Old 11-14-2001, 05:09 PM   #3
Captain Stern
Elven Warrior

RE

the older editions of Warhammer were mint, particularly Warhammer Fantasy Battle 3rd edition which was a rpg/skirmish game.

Since then though with each new edition the game has become over simplified and lost much of its depth.

The good thing about the Lord of the Rings game is that it's been written by Rick Priestly, one of the original old school writers of Warhammer.

However if you're looking for accurate portrayels of characters in the book you probably won't like it too much. I hear Elrond could easily be killed by a handful of orcs in the game whereas in the books i think someone like Elrond is virtualy unkillable by even a legion of Orcs.
Captain Stern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2001, 09:22 AM   #4
Agburanar
Elf Lord