Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > J.R.R. Tolkien > Lord of the Rings Books
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 10-16-2002, 06:48 PM   #1
Mic B
Sapling

What do the LoTR characters write with?

Hi This is my first time on this message board. I am only halfway through reading FoTR, and so far I have not found an answer to my question:

What do the characters in Lord of the Rings use to write with? Is it ever mentioned in the books?

Thanks!!
Old 10-16-2002, 07:05 PM   #2
markedel
'Sober' Mullet Frosh

Tolkien invented several alphabets for the inhabitants of middle earth. Generally the feanorian alphabet-the tengwar was used for writing with ink. There was also a rune alphabet-the Cirth which was used for carving and also by dwarves for pen-writing. When you get to it check out the appendices of ROTK. They are useful.
Old 10-16-2002, 07:15 PM   #3
Ben
Retired Ent

Do you mean their language, their alphabet, or writing utensil?

formerly known in the forums as bmilder

Owner of The Tolkien Trail and Entmoot.

Buy Entmoot shirts and mugs!
Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2002, 07:58 PM   #4
Mic B
Sapling

Their writing utensil
Old 10-16-2002, 08:00 PM   #5
Starr Polish
Elf Lord

Location: Slow down and I sail on the river, slow down and I walk to the hill
Most likely a quill of some sort.
Old 10-16-2002, 10:34 PM   #6
Sminty_Smeagol
Manic Cardboard-Box Dweller

I'm guessing it kind of depends on the culture. The dwarves probably carved in stone with a chisel or something the majority of the time.
Sminty_Smeagol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2002, 11:38 PM   #7
Ñólendil
Elf Lord