Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > Other Topics > Fantasy and Sci-Fi Novels
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 09-17-2008, 02:37 AM   #1
IronParrot
Fowl Administrator

Eoin Colfer to pen sixth Hitchhiker's Guide

I know there are a lot of Colfer readers (and Douglas Adams readers) who hang out around these parts, so you may find this story of interest.

While I like Colfer as a writer, I don't understand publishing's fascination with clinging to existing franchises and the legacies of dead authors. Apparently it makes money.

My own terse comments here.
All of IronParrot's posts are guaranteed to be 100% intelligent and/or sarcastic, comprising no genetically modified content and tested on no cute furry little animals unless the SPCA is looking elsewhere. If you observe a failure to uphold this warranty, please contact a forum administrator immediately to receive a full refund on your Entmoot registration.

Blog: Nick's Café Canadien
IronParrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 05:17 AM   #2
The Gaffer
Elf Lord

Yo, IronParrot! How ya diddlin?
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronParrot View Post
I know there are a lot of Colfer readers (and Douglas Adams readers) who hang out around these parts, so you may find this story of interest.

While I like Colfer as a writer, I don't understand publishing's fascination with clinging to existing franchises and the legacies of dead authors. Apparently it makes money.
Well, you answered that question yourself:
Quote:
I’m guilty of being party to this kind of brand-driven exploitation, and I know it.
You don't like it, yet you're highly curious.

Sadly, such laziness is a feature of publishing, films, TV, games, websites, music, art, everything. And the more it costs to create the medium, and the more revenue matters, the worse it gets.

Never got around to Artemis Fowl myself, though I might read a H2G2 spinoff if I didn't have to pay for it.
The Gaffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 05:29 AM   #3
BeardofPants