Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > J.R.R. Tolkien > Lord of the Rings Books
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 12-15-2002, 11:13 AM   #1
The Lady of Ithilien
Elven Warrior

Declaration Of The Rights Of The Hobbit

(Preliminary notes: I found this on a Spanish language Tolkien site yesterday; it is by the Tolkien Society of Spain and appears on several sites, but apparently none in English, so I figured it would be useful to try to translate it. It's too long for one post, so I split it into two parts. Note: I'm not a professional translator, so this may or may not be an accurate translation. Please read the translator's notes post.)

UNIVERSAL DECLARATION OF THE RIGHTS OF THE HOBBIT - PART I

Considering that liberty, justice and peace in the Shire have as a basis the recognition of the intrinsic dignity of equal and inalienable rights for all members of the family of hobbits (I clarify that I don’t know what this paragraph means, but Mr. Baggins has said we should insert it because it looks nice);

Considering that the lack of recognition and belittlement of the rights of hobbits have brought about barbaric abuse, and that it has been proclaimed the highest aspiration of any hobbit, the advent of a Shire where all are free of the awfulness of running out of pipeweed;

The General Assembly Hobbytla proclaims:

The current Universal Declaration of the Rights of the Hobbit as a shared ideal that all towns of the Shire should make an effort to respect and to make respected:

Article 1. – Todos los hobbits nacen. Ejem. Todos los hobbits nacen libres e iguales en dignidad y derechos. Quiero decir, no es que todos los hobbits nazcan derechos; es más recuerdo al hijo de los Matojo, que tuvo dificultades y sacó primero una mano, pero luego todo fue bien. Quer*a significar que todos los hobbits nacen libres e iguales en dignidad e iguales en derechos, no se si ustedes me entienden. No sé, creo que para ser el primero ha quedado algo confuso.