Old 06-24-2000, 09:10 PM   #1
IronParrot

Chicken Run = excellent!

My review from <a href=http://nicktheshadow.tsx.org/>my messageboard</a>:

Quote:
JUST TELL ME IF IT'S GOOD OR BAD

This one is a gem.

PROS

I'm not a big fan of Claymation. I don't pretend to be. I'm not all nuts about it like I am with CG animation. However, I must say that I was thoroughly impressed with Chicken Run on all levels.

First, the animation. On a technical level, it's spectacular, or so it seems to me - as I mentioned, I'm just an ordinary layman when it comes to Claymation, and not a nitpicky know-it-all bastard like I am with CG who pays attention to every damn texture.

Thankfully, and much to my delight, this film succeeds where Dinosaur completely flopped: it isn't all looks and no substance. In fact, this film has about as much substance as I've seen in an animated film. The wittiness of the screenplay, the closeness of the characters to the audience that gets developed throughout the story, and even the general premise itself is marvelous. In that respect, I found this film to be even better than last year's The Iron Giant, and probably even on a level with the absolutely adorable masterpiece that was Toy Story 2. It's good to see that Pixar isn't the only animation studio with half a brain on the creative staff, and that Aardman is still in action.

The premise, while based on elements that are clearly from Babe and A Bug's Life, emitted the distinct impression of originality. Farm animals trying to escape their destiny as a future Tuesday night dinner - that's from Babe; a resourceful, cunning leader of the bunch who erroneously relies on a fradulent circus performer for help and eventually gets everybody to end up building an aircraft - that's obviously from A Bug's Life. But when the two are combined, you get the work of art that is Chicken Run. Using the medium of Claymation, the already soaring charm of this film that comes from this premise is magnified tenfold.